The 93rd Annual Academy Awards Nominees and Winner


On March 25th, 2021, the 93rd Academy Awards (The Oscars) were held. The Academy Awards are presented by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences and recognize the excellence in the best films of 2020 and early 2021. This should not be mistaken for the Golden Globes as those awards recognize excellence in both film and television. The Academy Awards focus primarily on the various aspects of films only. This year, there was an amazing arrangement and variety of films that were showcased in the nominations. Here is the full list of the nominees and winners of the 93rd Annual Academy Awards, best known as The Oscars.


Best Picture

Nomadland (Winner)

The Father

Judas and the Black Messiah 



Promising Young Woman

Sound of Metal

The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best Director

Chloé Zhao, Nomadland (Winner)

Thomas Vinterberg, Another Round

David Fincher, Mank

Lee Isaac Chung, Minari 

Emerald Fennell, Promising Young Woman 

Best Actor in a Leading Role

Anthony Hopkins, The Father (Winner)

Riz Ahmed, Sound of Metal 

Chadwick Boseman, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

Gary Oldman, Mank

Steven Yeun, Minari

Best Actress in a Leading Role

Frances McDormand, Nomadland (Winner)

Viola Davis, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

Andra Day, The United States v. Billie Holiday 

Vanessa Kirby, Pieces of a Woman

Carey Mulligan, Promising Young Woman

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

Daniel Kaluuya, Judas and the Black Messiah (Winner)

Sacha Baron Cohen, The Trial of the Chicago 7 

Leslie Odom Jr., One Night in Miami

Paul Raci, Sound of Metal

Lakeith Stanfield, Judas and the Black Messiah

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

Yuh-jung Youn, Minari (Winner)

Maria Bakalova, Borat Subsequent Moviefilm 

Glenn Close, Hillbilly Elegy

Olivia Colman, The Father

Amanda Seyfried, Mank

Best Animated Feature Film

Soul (Winner)


Over the Moon

A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon


Best Adapted Screenplay

The Father, Christopher Hampton and Florian Zeller (Winner)

Borat Subsequent Moviefilm, Screenplay by Sacha Baron Cohen, Anthony Hines, Dan Swimer, Peter Baynham, Erica Rivinoja, Dan Mazer, Jena Friedman, Lee Kern; Story by Sacha Baron Cohen, Anthony Hines, Dan Swimer, Nina Pedrad

Nomadland, Chloé Zhao 

One Night in Miami, Kemp Powers 

The White Tiger, Ramin Bahrani 

Best Original Screenplay

Promising Young Woman, Emerald Fennell (Winner)

Judas and the Black Messiah, Screenplay by Will Berson, Shaka King; Story by Will Berson, Shaka King, Kenny Lucas, Keith Lucas

Minari, Lee Isaac Chung 

Sound of Metal, Screenplay by Darius Marder, Abraham Marder; Story by Darius Marder, Derek Cianfrance

The Trial of the Chicago 7, Aaron Sorkin 

Best Original Song

“Fight for You” in Judas and the Black Messiah, Music by H.E.R. and Dernst Emile II; Lyric by H.E.R. and Tiara Thomas (Winner)

“Hear My Voice” in The Trial of the Chicago 7, Music by Daniel Pemberton; Lyric by Daniel Pemberton and Celeste Waite

“Húsavík” in Eurovision Song Contest, Music and Lyric by Savan Kotecha, Fat Max Gsus and Rickard Göransson

“Io Si (Seen)” in The Life Ahead, Music by Diane Warren; Lyric by Diane Warren and Laura Pausini

“Speak Now” in One Night in Miami, Music and Lyric by Leslie Odom, Jr. and Sam Ashworth

Best Original Score

Soul, Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross, Jon Batiste (Winner)

Da 5 Bloods, Terence Blanchard 

Mank, Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross 

Minari, Emile Mosseri 

News of the World, James Newton Howard 

Best Sound

Sound of Metal, Nicolas Becker, Jaime Baksht, Michelle Couttolenc, Carlos Cortés and Phillip Bladh (Winner)

Greyhound, Warren Shaw, Michael Minkler, Beau Borders and David Wyman

Mank, Ren Klyce, Jeremy Molod, David Parker, Nathan Nance and Drew Kunin

News of the World, Oliver Tarney, Mike Prestwood Smith, William Miller and John Pritchett

Soul, Ren Klyce, Coya Elliott and David Parker

Best Costume Design

Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom, Ann Roth (Winner)

Emma, Alexandra Byrne 

Mank, Trish Summerville 

Mulan, Bina Daigeler 

Pinocchio, Massimo Cantini Parrini

Best Animated Short Film

If Anything Happens I Love You (Winner)


Genius Loci



Best Live-Action Short Film

Two Distant Strangers (Winner)

Feeling Through 

The Letter Room

The Present

White Eye 

Best Cinematography

Mank, Erik Messerschmidt (Winner)

Judas and the Black Messiah, Sean Bobbitt 

News of the World, Dariusz Wolski 

Nomadland, Joshua James Richards 

The Trial of the Chicago 7, Phedon Papamichael 

Best Documentary Feature

My Octopus Teacher (Winner)


Crip Camp

The Mole Agent


Best Documentary Short Subject

Colette (Winner)

A Concerto Is a Conversation

Do Not Split

Hunger Ward

A Love Song for Latasha

Best Film Editing

Sound of Metal, Mikkel E.G. Nielsen (Winner)

The Father, Yorgos Lamprinos

Nomadland, Chloé Zhao 

Promising Young Woman, Frédéric Thoraval 

The Trial of the Chicago 7, Alan Baumgarten 

Best International Feature Film

Another Round, Denmark (Winner)

Better Days, Hong Kong

Collective, Romania 

The Man Who Sold His Skin, Tunisia

Quo Vadis, Aida?, Bosnia and Herzegovina 

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom, Sergio Lopez-Rivera, Mia Neal, Jamika Wilson (Winner)

Emma, Marese Langan, Laura Allen, Claudia Stolze

Hillbilly Elegy, Eryn Krueger Mekash, Patricia Dehaney, Matthew Mungle 

Mank, Kimberley Spiteri, Gigi Williams, Colleen LaBaff

Pinocchio, Mark Coulier, Dalia Colli, Francesco Pegoretti

Best Production Design

Mank, Production Design: Donald Graham Burt; Set Decoration: Jan Pascale (Winner)

The Father, Production Design: Peter Francis; Set Decoration: Cathy Featherstone

Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom, Production Design: Mark Ricker; Set Decoration: Karen O’Hara and Diana Stoughton

News of the World, Production Design: David Crank; Set Decoration: Elizabeth Keenan

Tenet, Production Design: Nathan Crowley; Set Decoration: Kathy Lucas

Best Visual Effects

Tenet, Andrew Jackson, David Lee, Andrew Lockley and Scott Fisher (Winner)

Love and Monsters, Matt Sloan, Genevieve Camilleri, Matt Everitt and Brian Cox 

The Midnight Sky, Matthew Kasmir, Christopher Lawrence, Max Solomon and David Watkins

Mulan, Sean Faden, Anders Langlands, Seth Maury and Steve Ingram

The One and Only Ivan, Nick Davis, Greg Fisher, Ben Jones and Santiago Colomo Martinez